Amanda's Adventures











{February 22, 2015}   One Year Later and My Current Top 5 Musical Artists

Hey everyone. So one year ago today, my beautiful goddaughter was born. I can’t believe that it’s already been a year. She’s so big and so healthy and so smart. I remember the day she was born very vividly. I remember getting text message updates and the official announcement “She’s here!” I couldn’t wipe my stupid smile off my face for the rest of the afternoon. I was so excited to meet this brand new human. After work I headed to the hospital (I was allowed to be in the room since I got all of the required shots) and as I got closer, my heart started beating faster. My excitement was building and building… and then I walked into the room. The lighting was warm and there was a wonderful sense of stillness. I could feel that this space was different… special… sacred. I looked at my dear friend/new mom and saw in her face a mixed expression of exhaustion and joy. We (new mom, new dad, other friend, and I) just watched our new beloved little girl for hours. Just watching her breathe was amazing. We shared champagne and conversation and it seemed like we were in a separate dimension. Every moment was just so rich. Magic. It was wonderful to be reminded of that experience today. I love that little girl so much and I feel lucky to be her godmother.

AND……..

My Current Top 5 Artists/Albums

1. Rising Appalachia- I love all of their albums, but I’ve been listening to The Sails of Self a lot recently. I’ve even started incorporating their music into some of my speech sessions (as music to drum to for one of my client’s rewards for hard work).

2. The B-52’s- I love their album Cosmic Thing a lot because it exudes positivity, exploration, and fun. Lately I’ve been listening to Wild Planet. It’s a bit edgier and darker.

3. Bill Withers- I’ve been listening to a live version of “Use Me” on repeat for 2 days now.

4. Mary Chapin Carpenter- The album Come On, Come On has been a big part of my life since I was 5. I’m not really into country music, but this album is well orchestrated, beautifully written, and incredibly heart-felt. I know the chords to “Passionate Kisses”. 🙂

5. The Bridges of Madison County (the musical)- I was very lucky to have seen this musical last year on Broadway and I was completely blown away. Kelli O’Hara and Steven Pasquale reunite (they did The Light in the Piazza together) to sing a gorgeous, cello-heavy score by Jason Robert Brown.

Sleep well friends.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
