Amanda's Adventures











{February 21, 2015}   Resonance
Limbic Resonance by Amanda Sage

Limbic Resonance by Amanda Sage

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve had this thing where sometimes I meet certain people and I am overwhelmed by a huge amount of resonance and familiarity. It’s like I’ve known them forever, but, in reality (what is reality anyway?), we’ve just met. This led to 8-year-old me formulating several different theories about God and the afterlife and what really happens after we die (reincarnation? souls splitting in 2? congress of souls in the clouds?). I might go over those theories another day, but today I wanted to speak to an experience I had today.

Now, mind you, it’s been a long time since I’ve met anyone with whom I felt this sense of immediate familiarity. Years, probably. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve met many people over the last few years and have felt very connected to and I’ve developed some pretty great friendships. But today was different.

I was in a work-related meeting at a school I’ve visited only a few times. One part of my job is doing specialized evaluations at other school that my company has a contract with. These evaluations are pretty involved and comprehensive and involve many team members to complete. In this meeting, I met a person who was new to the team. She immediately came across as a strong personality with a strong sense of self. Honestly, I was a bit intimidated by not only her presence, but also by her depth of knowledge about her specialized area of study and her passion about it on multiple levels (our student, the school, the district, and education in the US). After the meeting, we talked pretty extensively about our views on the challenges coming up in public education and how there are a lot of barriers in meeting the needs of today’s students. As we shared the different pieces of information we had with one another, I was struck by how I listened to her words with my ears but that I was listening to her message with my soul (cheesy I know). The more I listened and learned the more I saw the layers of who she was and it struck me… I know you. Actually, it’s more like- I remember you. We kept talking and talking even though we both had places to be. We talked about collaborating and sharing a professional project. We shared our art interests (hers- ceramics, mine-leather) and decided that we HAD to have coffee soon and exchanged our personal information. It felt like we could have been talking about anything.

We were aligned on every point.

I don’t know if you realize how rare it is for me to find someone with the same amount of fire in their heart as I do about the topics I care about AND has the same vision on how to create change on a large scale. It’s pretty rare.

But maybe this is just what “meaningful human interaction” is supposed to be like. LOL I don’t know. I don’t get out much. But what I can tell you is that I feel motivated to keep doing what I’m doing and positive that I’m on the right path. I believe that I’ve met each “I remember you” person on my path at the right time. And today was no different.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
