Amanda's Adventures











{February 19, 2015}   New Moon, Chinese New Year, and Lent in 24 hours

Hey everyone. It’s been a long time since I posted. And honestly I’m not sure why I decided to post today. I read this in a couple of statuses on Facebook and thought it was worth thinking about. I’ve been doing a lot of reflection on my past and how it influences my present and I’m working to figure out what changes I need to make to lead a happier life. A big part of that is letting go. To me the new moon symbolizes a time of turning-in and contemplation. There is no light and therefore nothing to hang on to or be distracted by. Chinese New Year symbolizes both endings and beginnings. This new year is Wood Sheep. Apparently the themes that will present themselves in the next year with be stability, femininity, and a sense of home and honestly I could not be more excited about that. Lent is a time for reflection and sacrificing. The religious association of the holiday doesn’t really do it for me, but I like the idea of giving something up that is not good for us in the name of trying to be better, even if it’s just for ourselves. Especially if it’s just for ourselves. I think that committing to making better and healthier decisions is always good, but not always easy. I really like Reverend Wolf’s dedication/prayer below. It just resonated with me:

A Lenten Diet
by The Rev. John B. Wolf, adapted

Fast from criticism, and feast on praise;
Fast from cynicism, and feast on joy;
Fast from anger, and feast on peace;
Fast from resentment, and feast on contentment;
Fast from jealousy, and feast on love;
Fast from pride, and feast on humility;
Fast from selfishness, and feast on service;
Fast from fear, and feast on trust.

Katie Rall says:

Stealing your prayer (above). I like it!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
