Amanda's Adventures











{June 7, 2010}   Day 7: Pinkpop Day 3

So I woke up on the 7th day of my European journey to HELLA RAIN. Like pouring. It was nice to listen to, but I was not excited to have to deal with mud all day.

So for all my foodies out there, for breakfast I had this:

It’s like one of those Roast Pork buns that you get from a Dim Sum Chinese Food place, but instead of roast pork it’s AWESOME chicken. HA! It’s perfect for breakfast, a little carbs, A LOT of meat. Great way to start the day.

Anyway, I walked over to the festival area, but before I went in I decided to go to the market.

I searched around for a while and nothing really jumped out at me until I got to the Zand Amsterdam booth. Check out their website: http://www.zandamsterdam.com. I love their stuff. Anyway, I really liked their stuff, but 35 euro was a lot for me for a skirt (even though they’re the coolest skirts ever). I had some of my leather with me and I asked if I could trade a piece of my leather for a discount on the skirt. The lady said “Of course!” and she chose a bracelet. I then chose my skirt which has the same structure as this one, but mine has different fabrics.

It’s an adjustable skirt with a matching detachable pouch. So fun to have.

Anyway, I said good-bye to the lady, giving her my card. I finally entered the festival and I caught the last 15 minutes of Dewolff.

I couldn’t get any good pictures of them, but their lighting is great (right?). I enjoyed this band and I wish that I could’ve listened to them longer. They had a great rock sound that had blues and electronica influences.

The next performer I saw was Danko Jones.

His band had a punk/light metal feel to it, but honestly I got bored. He was kinda into himself and I think that it was clear that the audience wasn’t digging what he was about. I left early from his performance. I went over to the other stage to get read for Kate Nash.

She was great! I had never heard of her before but people kept telling me the day before that she would be great. She started at the piano and later went to guitar. The other members of her band were really great too. The only way I could describe it is as piano punk. Like Ingrid Michaelson meets Blondie. I really dug it. I hope they make it out to the US for concerts someday.

The next band I saw was Skunk Anansie.

Honestly, I only watched them for a couple of minutes. I would describe them as metal/rock. They were extremely flashy and just tons of screaming. The audience was into it, but I wasn’t. I decided to go early to the inside concert tent to wait for Yeasayer.

I loved them. I’ve been listening to them for a couple months now, and seeing them live was even better. I would describe them as experimental rock, fusing rock and electronica in a really cool way. I found out at the show that they were from Brooklyn which made them even MORE awesome! HA! I found out later from Jennifer and Ralph that during that show it had started pouring outside so I had wonderful timing in avoiding the rain.

As I came out of the tent, the rain faded away and the sun came out to play once more. The next act I saw was Triggerfinger.

Again, I only listened for a little bit. They had a classic rock feel but a little harder. What I found entertaining was that the front man looked as if he were Michael McDonald’s European cousin. 🙂

I went over to the other outside stage and saw MIKA.

I LOVED THIS BAND. Apparently they are gaining popularity in the US, but I had never heard of them. They had a Rusted Root sort of feel, silly and fun, sweet and child-like. I highly recommend them.

The next band was The Pixies.

They were definitely a classic rock band, but they had some chill stuff and some metal inspired stuff. They were easy to listen to.

The next act I saw was P!nk.

I like P!nk anyway, but she put on an amazing show. Not only did she do some of her hits, but she did some stuff that she never performed before, including Tom Petty’s “Free Falling.” During an instrumental break in this song, this happened:

That’s right! P!nk got into a giant hampster ball and rolled on top of the audience. It was incredible! I was too far back to be a part of that, but it was great to watch. This next activity was a part of her encore:

Right, again! She went Peter Pan on my ass! There she was singing and flying at the same time. It was so fun! I was really impressed with what she did in her hour-long concert.

The next band was Prodigy.

They were really good and the audience was nuts about them. They are really popular here in Europe. I would describe them as techno/rave music. Imagine being in a rave, outside, in the rain with 60,000 other people. It was a truly incredible experience. After the band ended, the founder of the festival came out and made a speech (in Dutch so I didn’t understand a word of it). As he finished, “All You Need Is Love” by The Beatles came on and fireworks started going. It was a great moment.

So that’s the end of Pinkpop 2010. It was a wild time! I enjoyed the atmosphere, the people, and (most of) the music. I was so happy to have met Jennifer and Ralph as they were so helpful in guiding me in my first festival experience.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
