Amanda's Adventures











{June 1, 2010}   Day 3: Frankfurt to Amsterdam

Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days. Too many pictures to go through from Pinkpop. So I’m a little behind, but I’ll be better of keeping you guys posted.

ANYWAY

May 27th.

Woke up early, 6 a.m. I had to get all my stuff together which was not easy after only a few hours of sleep. I got to the train station an hour early just to be sure I knew where I was going, but I found myself with a crazy amount of extra time so I decided to have breakfast.

YUM YUM!!!

So the train ride to Amsterdam was very pleasant. I dosed off a couple of times, waking up at each stop. We slowed down as we approached Koln. As we approached the station there, I saw the most beautiful and most detailed cathedral I’d ever seen. I wish I could have gotten off the train so that I could take better pictures of it, but here’s what I got:

As we were pulling out of the station, a pilot that was sitting across from me pointed at the bridge and told me to look at the gates.

There were locks all over the bridge, with the types ranging from hardcore padlocks to cheap plastic locks from girly diaries. The pilot said that couples meet on the bridge and put a lock on the bridge to represent their everlasting love. Super cute! I mean I thought the locks on the bridge were supposed to be some deep art instillation. It is an art instillation, but I guess one that is about love, deeper and more meaningful than I thought.

I finally got to Amsterdam and found my hostel. I stayed at the Hotel Damrak Inn. Narrow stairs, comfy beds, and great location. So I dropped off my stuff and decided to go exploring. I found a lot of cool architecture,

, some beautiful canals, the Anne Frank House (which I wasn’t allowed to take pictures in), my first coffee shop, and bicycles everwhere.

I’ve decided that my blog is just going to be an overview. I’ll do a more detailed account when I get back. I’d rather just experience everything, then talk about it later. Love you!

Later this week: post on PINKPOP!!!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
